KPMG Australia today announced the appointment of two new independent directors, with Jane Hemstritch AO and Mike Baird AO set to join the National Board.

The appointments will increase the number of independent directors on KPMG Australia’s Board to three.

Jane Hemstritch will succeed KPMG’s inaugural independent director Martin Dalgleish, who will retire from the Board in February 2024, having completed two three-year terms. Mr Baird will commence shortly, as soon as his remaining responsibilities at HammondCare allow. The pair will join Patty Akopiantz, who commenced her tenure in 2021, as independent directors on the KPMG Australia Board.

KPMG National Chairman, Martin Sheppard, said: “The National Board is KPMG Australia’s key governing body, responsible for overseeing management and conduct of the firm. Over the past six years, our experience has been that independent Board members play an important role in strengthening our governance by imparting external perspectives and challenge – both key to meeting evolving stakeholder expectations.”

“I am delighted to welcome Jane and Mike to our Board – both experienced leaders of high standing, each with strong reputations for integrity and values. Jane is widely recognised as a leading member of Australia’s business community following an outstanding career at both senior executive and board level of large public companies, spanning a range of industries across Australia and Asia-Pacific. Mike’s distinguished career across the public and private sector is rare and positions him to provide our Board with unique insight and challenge. His government expertise, understanding of regulatory drivers and parliamentary processes is a valuable addition to the Board.”

“Together, the three independent directors will ensure we have contemporary skills around the Board table to enhance governance and provide the agility required to respond to a rapidly changing environment. All hold a strong belief in the importance of purpose, principles and values-driven leadership, and have made strong contributions to community service and philanthropy.”

Jane Hemstritch has extensive senior executive experience in accounting, IT and change management, underpinned by broad expertise in the telecommunications, energy and finance sectors. She served as Managing Director Asia Pacific for Accenture Limited and has held directorships on several ASX50 companies including Commonwealth Bank and Telstra. Ms Hemstritch was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in January 2023 for her contributions to Australian business, medical research, public resources and culture through professional service and philanthropy.

Mike Baird’s career has traversed business and politics, with deep experience across institutional and consumer banking through senior roles with NAB, Deutsche Bank and HSBC. He then moved into politics, holding various NSW Government ministries before becoming NSW Treasurer and ultimately NSW Premier in 2014. After leaving politics in 2017, he held senior executive roles at NAB and most recently worked in the aged care sector as CEO of HammondCare. Appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2020, Mr Baird is currently Chair of philanthropic organisation, Future Generation Australia, the Chair of Cricket Australia and patron of several charitable organisations.

Existing Board member Patty Akopiantz has held ASX director roles across the health, financial services and retail sectors and has been on the board of numerous not-for-profit organisations. As the co-founder of Assembly Climate Capital, she invests in companies that significantly impact climate change and is active in a broad range of climate initiatives and organisations.

KPMG Australia’s National Board

Following these changes, the KPMG Australia Board will comprise the National Chairman, CEO and 10 other members – including the three independent Board directors:

Martin Sheppard

National Chairman

Andrew Yates

Chief Executive Officer

Brett Mitchell

Partner, Enterprise

Kim Lawry

Partner, Audit & Assurance

Minh Dao

Partner, Tax & Legal

Carmel Mortell

Partner, Clients & Markets

Michael Hiller

Partner, Consulting

Andrew O'Connor

Partner, Deal Advisory & Infastructure

Corrina Bertram

Partner, Consulting

Jane Hemstritch AO

Independent Board member

Patty Akopiantz

Independent Board member

Mike Baird AO

Independent Board member

For further information

Rory Cunningham 
+61 439 052 422 

Hayden Jewell
+61 423 868 454