U.S. order renewing temporary denial of export privileges of Russian airline for one year

Temporary denial order is renewed—effective immediately—and will remain in effect for one year.

Temporary denial order is renewed—effective immediately—and will remain in effect for one

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Department of Commerce today released for publication in the Federal Register an order renewing the temporary denial of export privileges of a Russian airline for one year.


As explained in today’s order [PDF 251 KB]:

  • An order was issued in May 2022 denying export privileges of a Russian airline for a period of 180 days to prevent an imminent violation of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR). Read TradeNewsFlash
  • The temporary denial order was subsequently renewed in November 2022 and then again in May 2023. Read TradeNewsFlash
  • Evidence presented by BIS demonstrates that the Russian airline has acted in violation of the EAR and the temporary denial order; the violations have been significant, deliberate, and covert; and there is a likelihood of imminent violations.
  • The renewal for an extended period (one year) is deemed appropriate by the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Export Enforcement because the Russian airline has engaged in a pattern of repeated, ongoing and/or continuous apparent violations of the EAR.
  • Therefore, the temporary denial order is renewed—effective immediately—and will remain in effect for one year.

For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
E: jlibby@kpmg.com
John Anderson
Managing Director
E: johneanderson@kpmg.com
Jenna Leigh Glass
Managing Director
E: jennaleighglass@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 3712, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.