U.S. implementation of 2022 Wassenaar Arrangement decisions

Request for comments on license exception eligibility for certain supersonic aero gas turbine engine component technology

Request for comments on license exception eligibility

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Department of Commerce released for publication in the Federal Register an interim final rule implementing 2022 Wassenaar Arrangement decisions, with a request for comments on license exception eligibility for certain supersonic aero gas turbine engine component technology.

The interim final rule [PDF 773 KB] (272 pages) explains that:

  • BIS maintains, as part of its Export Administration Regulations (EAR), the Commerce Control List (CCL), which identifies certain items subject to Department of Commerce jurisdiction.
  • During the December 2022 Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies (WA) Plenary meeting, participating states of the WA made certain decisions affecting the WA dual-use and munitions control lists, which BIS is now implementing via amendments to the CCL.
  • BIS seeks comments on restricting strategic trade authorization (STA) eligibility for countries in EAR Country Group A:5 of certain technology for the development of supersonic aero gas turbine engine components controlled under ECCN 9E003.k, formerly controlled under ECCN 9E001 as part of its ongoing assessment of current export control licensing policy.

The rule is effective upon publication in the Federal Register, which is scheduled for October 18, 2023. Comments specific to ECCN 9E003.k must be received by BIS no later than 45 days after date of publication in the Federal Register.


For more information, contact a professional with KPMG’s Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
E: jlibby@kpmg.com
John Anderson
Managing Director
E: johneanderson@kpmg.com
Jenna Leigh Glass
Managing Director
E: jennaleighglass@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 3712, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.