U.S. order renewing temporary denial of export privileges of Russian airline

The order will remain in effect for 180 days.

The order will remain in effect for 180 days.

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Department of Commerce today released for publication in the Federal Register an order renewing the temporary denial of export privileges of a Russian airline.


As explained in today’s order [PDF 275 KB]:

  • An order was issued in October 2022 denying export privileges of a Russian airline for a period of 180 days to prevent an imminent violation of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR).
  • BIS—through the Office of Export Enforcement—in March 2023 submitted a written request for renewal of the temporary denial order. No opposition to the renewal of the temporary denial order was received.
  • BIS presented evidence that “convincingly demonstrates” that the airline has acted in violation of the EAR and the temporary denial order; that such violations have been significant, deliberate and covert; and that there is a likelihood of imminent violations.
  • Renewal of the temporary denial order is necessary to prevent imminent violation of the EAR and to give notice to companies and individuals in the United States and abroad that they should avoid dealing with the Russian airline in connection with export and reexport transactions involving items subject to the EAR and in connection with any other activity subject to the EAR.

The order is effective immediately and will remain in effect for 180 days.

For more information, contact a professional with KPMG Trade & Customs services:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
E: jlibby@kpmg.com
John Anderson
Managing Director
E: johneanderson@kpmg.com
Jenna Leigh Glass
Managing Director
E: jennaleighglass@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 3712, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.