Fireside Chat 2: 10:00 - 10:30 IST | 04:30 - 05:00 GMT

  • Anish De, Global Head Energy, Natural Resources and Chemicals, KPMG International in conversation withDr. Ajay Mathur, Director General, International Solar Alliance

Panel 1: 10:30 - 11:30 IST | 05:00 - 06:00 GMT | 13:00 - 14:00 SGT

Theme: Are new technologies set to change the ASPAC energy landscape The Asia Pacific region is largely in deficit in terms of resources, especially renewables. Key demand centers of the world are located in the region and growth in the region remains strong. What could be the path forward and the technology landscape for ASPAC? Are there specific technology complements to be prioritized? How should policy evolve and support this journey?

Moderator: Jonathon Peacock, Partner and Global Oil & Gas Leader, KPMG

Panelists

  • Matt Gleeson, Vice President Global Alliances & Channels, Oracle

  • Annu Talreja, Founder & CEO, Accacia.ai
  • Sharad Somani, Executive Director and Partner, ASPAC Head of Infrastructure, KPMG in Singapore
  • Roundtable 1: 11:30 - 12:30 IST | 06:00 - 07:00 GMT

    Theme: Scaling green finance sustainably for impact Presently, sustainable finance supply continues to trail demand globally and in India. Scaling up of sustainable financing is critical for meeting the net zero targets. However, a large share of sustainable financing demand remains outside the realm of commercial viability. This session intends to deliberate on the critical actions to scale sustainable financing flows especially private financing, and seeks to glean perspectives on policy enablers, investors, and instruments for expanding sustainable financing.

    Moderator: Anand Madhavan, Partner, Special Situations Group – Infrastructure, Deal Advisory, KPMG in India

    Panelists

  • Peeyush Kumar IAS, Joint Secretary (IPP), Department of Economic Affairs, Govt of India
  • Nishant Bhardwaj, Global Sector Lead- Renewable Energy/Deputy Director, Global Green Growth Institute
  • Dhruba Purkayastha, India Director & USICEF Director, Climate Policy Initiative
  • Hitesh Sachdeva, Partner, Deal Advisory, KPMG in India
  • Roundtable 2: 13:30 - 14:30 IST | 08:00 - 9:00 GMT

    Theme: Bio-energy – prospects, promises and conflicts Bio-energy sector is gaining traction in India given it can play an instrumental role in promoting energy security and sustainability of the country. This session will discuss key challenges in the area of supply chain, technology, finance, market adoption etc. encountered by the sector and discuss requisite policy and market enablers vital to create an expansive bio-energy ecosystem.

    Moderator:Nikhil Moghe, Partner, Business Consulting, KPMG in India

    Panelists

  • Ashu Shinghal, Executive Director (Corporate Strategy, Planning & Advocacy, TQM , SD) and Chief Risk Officer, GAIL India

  • Pankaj Patel, President & Member of Board, Abellon
  • Abhilesh Gupta, Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer, AG&P Pratham
  • Niraj Singh, Sales Manager (MEA), carbon clean
  • Rachel Williams Solomon, Associate Director, Low Carbon Fuels, Energy and Mobility Strategy, KPMG in UK
  • Panel 3: 14:30 - 15:30 IST | 09:00 - 10:00 GMT | 10:00 - 11:00 CET

    Theme: Energy in Europe after the Ukraine conflict In the near term the conflict in Ukraine is playing havoc with European energy prices. The economies are being ravaged and there is discernible social unrest. However, nations are also making a pivot towards alternate energy forms with rapidity. How quickly can the ecosystem change? What role would forthcoming geopolitics, policies, commercial arrangements and energy markets have? If one were to look back from 2030, what would the travel path have looked like?

    Moderator:Simon Virley, Vice Chair and Head of ENR, KPMG in UK

    Panelists

  • Dominic Martin, VP Government and Regulatory Affairs, Marketing and Trading, Equinor

  • Juan Jose Alba Rios, Director of Regulation, Endesa
  • Wafa Jafri, Partner and Head of Energy Deal Strategy, KPMG UK
  • Roundtable 3: 15:30 - 16:30 IST | 10:00 - 11:00 GMT

    Theme: Hydrogen – is it turning out to be the game changer that it promises to be? Green hydrogen has the potential to be a crucial element of India's future energy mix and help decarbonize multiple hard-to-abate sectors. Globally, green hydrogen is gathering momentum, with countries formulating strategies and roadmaps. Although India is well positioned to embrace green hydrogen, there are still major challenges to be overcome in terms of scaling up supply infrastructure, making it cost-competitive with conventional energy sources, and creating an end-use market demand. What would be the crucial major steps that would help accelerate India's transition to a green hydrogen economy?

    Moderator:Anvesha Thakker, Partner & Lead, Renewable Energy, KPMG in India and Global Co-Lead Energy Transition, Global Decarbonisation Hub, KPMG

    Panelists

  • Vineet Mittal, Chairman, Avaada Group

  • Sanjeev Gupta, Executive Director & Head, Corporate Strategy Group, Indian Oil Corporation Limited
  • Surbhi Goyal, Senior Energy Specialist, The World Bank
  • Kapil Maheshwari, Leader Renewable Energy and Green Hydrogen Development, Reliance Industries Limited
  • Jim Pyke, Senior Advisor, Power and Utilities, KPMG in USA
  • Roundtable 4: 16:30 - 17:30 IST | 11:00 - 12:00 GMT

    Theme: Innovation and Technology for Energy Transition The energy industry in the last decade has seen massive upgrade in technology advancements across the globe. This is paramount as technology can help the industry become more safer, smarter and efficient and also equally help position for the energy transition and the portfolio of energy sources one will need to manage. The session delves on the new and emerging technologies, collaboration between business and academia in developing technology and innovation, key trends in Refineries of Industry 4.0, challenges in technology adoption and policy enablers required for push.

    Moderator:Manas Majumdar, Partner, Business Consulting, and Oil & Gas and Chemicals lead, KPMG in India

    Panelists

  • Pawan Sabharwal, Head of Strategic Business Development (Decarbonisation), bp

  • Manish Grover, Executive Director, Strategic IS & Digital, Indian Oil Corporation Limited
  • Matthew Gleeson, Vice President, Global Alliances and Channels, Oracle
  • Roni Michael, Partner, Advisory, Head of Innovation, KPMG
  • Roundtable 5: 17:30 - 18:30 IST | 12:00 - 13:00 GMT

    Theme: Decarbonizing hard to abate sectors In India, industry is one of the most significant contributors to the greenhouse gases emissions and is expected to grow further with economic progression plans in place. The country is yet to build most of its infrastructure it needs for its growing population and a thriving economy. Industry sectors are necessarily required to reduce their emissions sharply to help Countries achieving the Paris Agreement target of reducing global temperature well below 2 degrees Celsius. In this session, we will deliberate on efforts made by various hard-to-abate sectors to mitigate their emissions.

    Moderator:Apurba Mitra, Associate Partner, ESG, KPMG in India

    Panelists

  • Mohit Bhargava, Executive Director, Head (Renewable Energy), NTPC Limited

  • Prabodha Acharya, Chief Sustainability Officer, JSW
  • Dr. Arvind Bodhankar, Executive Director & Chief Risk Officer, Dalmia Bharat Group
  • Sydney Lobo, Ex- Head Sustainability, Tata Power
  • Panel 4: 18:30 - 19:30 IST | 13:00 - 14:00 GMT | 08:00 - 09:00 EST

    Theme: Energy and climate dynamics – How is America evolvingAmerica has been volatile in its domestic politics and in its energy and climate policies. Recent pronouncements by the Biden administration have heavily tilted towards renewables, even as traditional energy forms hum along, supported by demand and high energy prices. With mid-terms around the corner a number of “what if” situations present themselves and make for a good discussion.

    Moderator:Arun Mani, Principal, Advisory, Strategy, KPMG in the U.S.

    Panelists

  • Bjornulf Ostvik, Founder and CEO, Ecogensus

  • Manya Ranjan, SVP and Head, Corporate Strategy, Renew Power
  • Franceli Jodas, Global Leader, Power & Utilities, KPMG
  • Inaugural 10:00 - 11:30 IST | 04:30 - 06:00 GMT
    • Welcome Address: Yezdi Nagporewalla, CEO, KPMG in India

    • Opening Presentation “The world that we are in” Anish De, Global Head-Energy, Natural Resources and Chemicals (ENRC), KPMG International

    • Keynote Address Alok Kumar, Secretary Power, Government of India

    • Watering the Plant

    • Launch of Thought Leadership Paper “Closing the Climate Finance Gap”

    • Launch of the Innovation Lounge

    • Ministerial Address Hon’ble Hardeep Singh Puri, Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Housing and Urban Affairs, Government of India

    Panel : 11:30 - 13:00 IST | 06:00 - 07:30 GMT





    Fireside Chat 1: 11:30 - 12:00 IST | 06:00 - 06:30 GMT






    Panel 1: 12:00 - 13:00 IST | 06:30 - 07:30 GMT

    Theme: Ensuring security of supply The session will delve into the energy choices countries have made for ensuring supply security and how the current environment affects those choices. It will discuss the energy security issues considering the geopolitics, technology, resource access, supply chains and finance access/ costs.


    Prelude to the Panel: Anish De, Global Head Energy, Natural Resources and Chemicals, KPMG International in conversation with Dr. Jennifer Holmgren, CEO, LanzaTech


    Moderator: Manish Aggarwal, Partner, Head – Energy & Infrastructure M&A, Special Situations Group, KPMG in India

    Panelists

  • Gurdeep Singh, Chairman and MD, NTPC Ltd.

  • Rajashri Gupta, Managing Director, ONGC Videsh Ltd.
  • Saurabh Kumar, Head, Global Energy Alliance for People and Planet (GEAPP), India
  • Dr. Xiaodong Wang, Lead Energy Specialist, The World Bank
  • Anish De, Global Head-Energy, Natural Resources and Chemicals, KPMG International
  • 13:00 - 14:00 IST | 07:30 - 8:30 GMT

    Lunch Break

    Panel 2: 14:00 - 15:00 IST | 08:30 - 9:30 GMT

    Theme: Growth pathways in a climate change and affordability challenged world Escalating energy costs across the world are not only upending national budgets but also personal finances. The emerging economic situation could affect the fight against climate change and attainment of the SDGs including eradication of poverty, the first SDG. The session will delve into the emergent challenges on growth and affordability challenges. It will explore the consequences for the energy sector – including business and individual energy users and essential actions needed for finding economic growth opportunities while addressing affordability and climate related challenges.

    Moderator:Vikas Gaba, Partner and National Head, Power and Utilities, KPMG in India

    Panelists

  • Dr. Arunabha Ghosh, CEO, Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW)

  • Mahua Acharya, Managing Director, CESL
  • Suket Singhal, Group CEO, Secure Meters
  • Shantanu Dixit, Group Coordinator, Prayas (Energy Group)
  • Arun Mani, Principal, Advisory, Strategy, KPMG in the U.S.
  • Panel 3: 15:00 - 16:00 IST | 09:30 - 10:30 GMT

    Theme: Keeping sustainability firmly in sightsIn the short term the world has witnessed wheeling back on climate initiatives as security has taken precedence. Yet the burning earth needs those commitments to be upped and not retreated upon. The session will take a medium- and long-term view on what could be the pathways for accelerated decarbonization, the key players and how corporates need to shape their decarbonization strategies in this evolving context

    Moderator:Anvesha Thakker, Partner & Lead, Renewable Energy, KPMG in India and Global Co-Lead Energy Transition, Global Decarbonisation Hub, KPMG

    Panelists

  • C K Mishra, Former Secretary, MoEFCC, GoI

  • Nitin Prasad, Chairman, Shell Group of companies in India
  • Subramanian Sarma, Whole-time Director & Sr. EVP (Energy), L&T
  • Apurva Chaturvedi, Senior Clean Energy Specialist, USAID
  • Mike Hayes, Global Climate Change and Decarbonization Leader, Global Head of Renewable Energy, KPMG International
  • 16:00 - 16:30 IST | 10:30 - 11:00 GMT

    Tea Break

    Panel 3: 16:30 - 17:30 IST | 11:00 - 12:00 GMT

    Theme: Policy choices to keep the balanceAs at all ENRich editions, in this concluding panel of the day senior policy makers and panelists will analyze and assess how a coherent policy frame can be developed to keep the energy systems going and working to secure the environmental and security goals. The commonalities of the issues and the inevitable differences in situations will be brought together by the panel to identify possible forward policy actions.

    Moderator:Anish De, Global Head-Energy, Natural Resources and Chemicals, KPMG International

    Panelists

  • Tarun Kapoor, Advisor to PM, Govt of India

  • S. Suresh Kumar, Additional Chief Secretary, Energy, Government of West Bengal
  • Ajwad Musthafa, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Climate Change and Technology, Republic of Maldives
  • Vishal Kapoor, CEO, EESL
  • As on 28 November, 2022