U.S. House passes bill restricting imports from China’s Xinjiang region, response to reports of forced labor

Restrictions related to China's Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous region

Restrictions related to China's Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous region

The U.S. House of Representatives yesterday passed the “Uyghur Forced Labor Prevention Act” (H.R. 1155) by a vote of 428 to 1.

H.R. 1155 [PDF 300 KB] (December 8, 2021) would impose restrictions related to China's Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous region, such as prohibiting certain imports from Xinjiang and imposing sanctions on those responsible for human rights violations there.

Revised text [PDF 55 KB] of the bill was released on December 14, 2021.

Goods manufactured or produced in Xinjiang would not be allowed entry into the United States unless U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP):

  • Determines that the goods were not manufactured by convict labor, forced labor or indentured labor under penal sanctions
  • Reports such a determination to Congress and to the public

Related legislation

The Senate on July 14, 2021, passed by unanimous consent, S. 65, the “Uyghur Forced Labor Prevention Act,” a bill addressing similar matters. 

Additionally, a similar bill (H.R. 6210) concerning the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous region was passed by the House in September 2020, but not considered by the Senate. Read TradeNewsFlash

What’s next?

With House passage of the bill, H.R. 1155 would be forwarded to the Senate for its consideration. If the Senate were to take up and approve H.R. 1155 without changes, the bill would then be sent to the White House for action by the president.

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 3712, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.