New e-Telegraphic Transfer System for Tax Payments

Following to the Malaysian Inland Revenue Board (“MIRB”)’s media release on 3 March 2022, the MIRB has rolled out the new e-TT system which will generate a unique account number (i.e. Virtual Account Number) as a payment identification.  This will assist the MIRB to trace the electronic transfer of funds by taxpayers to its accounts and to identify the taxpayers.  Therefore, effective 1 April 2022, taxpayers who wish to make payments through Telegraphic Transfer, Electronic Funds Transfer and Interbank Giro from within and outside Malaysia, are required to obtain a Virtual Account Number.

The Virtual Account Number generated under the e-TT system caters for the following types of taxes:-

(i)           Income tax

(ii)          Withholding tax (one number for one payee)

(iii)          Petroleum income tax

(iv)         Compound

(v)          Public entertainer

(vi)         Real Property Gains Tax – Section 21B retention sum payment

Each Virtual Account Number can only be used for one transaction. Also, please note that the e-TT system is currently not applicable for withholding tax payments under Sections 107D and 109DA of the Income Tax Act, 1967. 

The e-TT system and the user manual in obtaining a Virtual Account Number can be accessible under “ezHasil Services” and “user manual” respectively in the MyTax portal. 

The earlier MIRB’s media release can be accessible via the above link.

Should you have any questions or require further clarification, please do not hesitate to email or contact any of our Executive Directors, Directors, Associate Directors or Managers whom you are accustomed to dealing with or who are responsible for the tax affairs of your organization.

Petaling Jaya Office

Soh Lian Seng
Executive Director -
Head of Tax and Head of Tax Dispute Resolution
+ 603 7721 7019

Bob Kee
Executive Director -
Head of Transfer Pricing
+ 603 7721 7029

Tai Lai Kok
Executive Director -
Head of Corporate Tax
+ 603 7721 7020

Long Yen Ping
Executive Director -
Head of Global Mobility Services
+ 603 7721 7018

Ng Sue Lynn
Executive Director -
Head of Indirect Tax
+ 603 7721 7271

Outstation Offices

Penang Office

Evelyn Lee
Executive Director -
Penang Tax
+604 238 2288 (ext. 312)

Ipoh Office

Crystal Chuah Yoke Chin
Tax Manager -
Ipoh Tax
+605 253 1188 (ext. 320)

Kuching & Miri Office

Regina Lau
Executive Director -
Kuching & Miri Tax
+6082 268 308 (ext. 2188)

Kota Kinabalu Office

Titus Tseu
Executive Director -
Kota Kinabalu Tax
+6088 363 020 (ext. 2822)

Johor Bahru Office

Ng Fie Lih
Executive Director -
Johor Bahru Tax
+607 266 2213 (ext. 2514)